Introduction to the School of Social Sciences

The major disciplines of the School of Social Sciences are political science, sociology, economics and psychology. Currently, the School has five Tier-1 Ph.D. programs, including political science, sociology, theoretical economics, science of physical culture and sports and philosophy, four Bachelor Degree programs consisting of the experimental class of social sciences (with three fields: international political science, sociology and economics) and psychology, four Postdoctoral programs, including political science, sociology, theoretical economics and philosophy, and three key programs which are international relations, sociology and science, technology and society. The courses “Analysis of International Relations”, “Principles of Marxist Political Economy”, “Introduction to Deng Xiaoping Theory and ‘Three Represents’ Theory” were named national undergraduate quality courses.
The School has 83 faculty and staff, including 41 full professors, 27 associate professors, 12 assistant professors and 3 administrative staff. Additionally, there are 71 postdoctoral fellows in the School. The current enrollment is 358 undergraduates, 281 Master’s degree students and 223 doctoral students. Overall, the School has 862 students, including 151 international students and 13 students from Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.
The School has four departments and one institutes. They are the Department of Sociology, Department of Political Science, Department of International Relations, Department of Psychology, and Institute of Economics. There are also about 20 interdisciplinary substantial research institutions in the School.