Li Qiang Elected as the President of the Chinese Sociological Association

On July 10th, 2014, the 8th Council Election of the Chinese Sociological Association was held in Wu Han, Hubei province. Dean of the School of Social Sciences, Tsinghua University, Professor Li Qiang; also Ph.D. supervisor, was elected as the new president of the Chinese Sociological Association.

Chinese Sociological Association was founded in March 1979. Founder of the society, Professor Fei Xiaotong, served as the president of the first, as well as the second term. After him, famous scholars Yuan Fang, Lu Xueyi, Zheng Hangsheng, and Li Peilin served successively as the president. The mission of the Chinese Sociological Association includes: carry out various forms of academic activities, promote social investigations and studies in all districts and departments, advance the development of Sociology, promote and popularize the knowledge of Sociology, improve the quality of teaching and research, publish more books and periodicals on Sociology, exchange academic information and materials, build a great team of Sociology, organize and attend academic conferences or other academic exchange activities on behalf of Chinese Sociology. As the 9th president of the Chinese Sociological Association, Li Qiang expressed that with the joint effort of all the scholars of Chinese Sociological Association, we would continue to make greater progress in the development of Sociology in China as well as in the academic research, and make new contributions to the reform and social governance in the new period of China.